The Regional Catchment Strategy for the Port Phillip & Western Port region
Summary of RCS Guidelines – Part 4 (Local Areas)

20 January 2020

The Local Areas section will focus on the integration of the themes and related topics in a way that is relevant to local communities.

There are seven local areas and two major bay systems within the Port Phillip and Western Port region.

  • Bass Coast, South Gippsland and Islands
  • Casey, Cardinia, Baw Baw
  • Macedon Ranges, Hume, Mitchell, Whittlesea
  • Moorabool, Melton, Wyndham, Geelong
  • Mornington Peninsula
  • Yarra Ranges, Nillumbik
  • Greater Melbourne
  • Port Phillip Bay
  • Western Port.

The Port Phillip and Western Port region is home to almost 5 million people, so for simplicity these local areas have been defined by local government areas. 

This section may include consideration of important matters such as: planning; land use change;  landscape values; climate change; sustainable agriculture, water and land use planning; resilient and liveable cities and towns; recreational use; demographic changes etc.

 Each local area will include the following headings:

  • Introduction
  • Assessment of current condition and trends
  • Major threats and drivers of change
  • Vision and outcomes
  • Priority directions, including reference to any strategies, plans and action plans, in which  targets, outputs and priority actions are described in detail.