The Regional Catchment Strategy for the Port Phillip & Western Port region
23 September 2020
The Port Phillip and Westernport Catchment Management Authority (PPWCMA) is charged...
31 January 2020
Approval The final RCS will be signed off by the Port Phillip & Westernport Catchment...
23 January 2020
The Port Phillip & Western Port region has a high number and diversity of stakeholders...


The Local Areas section will focus on the integration of the themes and related topics in a way that is relevant to local communities.

There are seven local areas and two major bay systems within the Port Phillip and Western Port region.

  • Bass Coast, South Gippsland and Islands
  • Casey, Cardinia, Baw Baw
  • Macedon Ranges, Hume, Mitchell, Whittlesea
  • Moorabool, Melton, Wyndham, Geelong
  • Mornington Peninsula
  • Yarra Ranges, Nillumbik
  • Greater Melbourne
  • Port Phillip Bay
  • Western Port.

The Port Phillip and Western Port region is home to almost 5 million people, so for simplicity these local areas have been defined by local government areas. 

This section may include consideration of important matters such as: planning; land use change;  landscape values; climate change; sustainable agriculture, water and land use planning; resilient and liveable cities and towns; recreational use; demographic changes etc.

 Each local area will include the following headings:

  • Introduction
  • Assessment of current condition and trends
  • Major threats and drivers of change
  • Vision and outcomes
  • Priority directions, including reference to any strategies, plans and action plans, in which  targets, outputs and priority actions are described in detail.